Logo Header
 Research 2


Category Research


Most of my research work would not have been possible without the support of my family, mentors, colleagues, and other various parties. I express my sincere gratitude to my parents and my wife who encouraging me in all of my pursuits and inspiring me to follow my dreams, and always support me emotionally and financially.

First I express my sincere gratitude to all the teachers and the lecturers who supported during my collage and undergraduate studies, especially my biology teacher, Mrs. Mano Kalupahana at senior high school (Royal College, Colombo), and my undergraduate mentor Dr. S.R. Krishnarajah at the Open University of Sri Lanka are acknowledged for their encouragements and mentoring. In addition, Prof. Gaya R. Ranawaka, Dr. B. Zeenia Nizam, Prof. G.W.A. Rohan Fernando, and Mr. Alwis (Lab Technologist) at the Open University of Sri Lanka are also acknowledged for their kind support during my undergraduate studies.

Dr. Kelum N. Manamendra-Arachchi (Wildlife Heritage Trust Sri Lanka, WHT), my first mentor guided taxonomic studies, especially on examining specimens, writing descriptions, and making illustrations (using Camera Lucida). Dr. Rohan D. Pethiyagoda (the founder of Wildlife Heritage Trust Sri Lanka, WHT), the other mentor of my undergraduate research, is also acknowledged for providing financial support in my early career research, encouragements, and the support of examining specimen-collections at WHT Museum at Agra Arboretum.

Mr. D.M.S. Suranjan Karunarathna (Nature Explorations & Education Team Sri Lanka, NEET), my first research partner and the co-author of many of my research projects, is acknowledged for his great research partnership and sharing field experiences. Mr. Mohamed M. Bahir (Wildlife Heritage Trust Sri Lanka, WHT), another sincere colleague is acknowledged for the encouragements.

Late Prof. Colin P. Groves (Australian National University, Canberra) is acknowledged for his mentoring and the support given to develop my research and publication skills. Prof. Campbell O. Webb (Harvard University, Arnold Arboretum), and Prof. Rhett D. Harrison (Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden, Yunnan) are also acknowledged for the mentoring, teaching and encouragements.

Prof. Jatna Supriatna and Dr. Abi Abinawanto at the University of Indonesia, Depok, my mentors of the postgraduate studies are acknowledged for mentoring, teaching, and the great support in networking and inspiration. Dr. Y. Yasman, Dr. Anom Bowolaksono, Dr. Nurul L. Winarni, Dr. Asri A. Dwiyahreni, and Mrs. Maya Dewi at the University of Indonesia are acknowledged for their continuous support.

Dr. Sandy Nurvi (Gadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta), Dr. Mochamad Indrawan (University of Indonesia, Depok), Dr. Mirza D. Kusrini (Bogor Agriculture University, Dramaga), Dr. Jodi Rowley (Australian Museum, Darlinghurst),and Prof. Djoko T. Iskandar (Bandung Institute of Technology), and Dr. Junichi Fujinuma (University of Tartu, Estonia) for their support during my first arrival at Indonesia.

Dr. Lee E. Harding (Canada), Prof. Chris Margules (James Cook University, Queensland), Dr. Philip Bowles (IUCN), Prof. Aaron M. Bauer (Villanova University, Villanova), Prof. Enrique La Marca (Universidad de Los Andes, Mérida), and Mr. John Rudge (United Kingdom) are acknowledged for the continuous support of reviewing, editing and commenting on my manuscripts.

Mr. D.G. Ramyanath Sirimanna, Mr. Asanka A.D. Udayakumara, Mr. Panduka Silva, Mr. Devaka Jayamanne, Mr. W.A.A.D. Gayan Pradeep, Mr. Gayan Chathuranga, Mr. H.A. Praneeth J. Alwis, Mr. Nirmala Hi. Balasuriya, Mr. Sulakshana Wickramaarachchi, Mr. Vimukthi Weerathunge, Mr. Dinesh E. Gabadage, W. Madhava S. Botejue, and Mr. Chairunas A. Putra are acknowledged for the support at the field work.

Dr. Anslem de Silva (Amphibia and Reptile Research Organization of Sri Lanka, ARROS), Dr. Gernot Vogel and Dr. Ulrich Manthey at the Society for Southeast Asian Herpetology, Heidelberg, Prof. Jakob Hallermann (Universität Hamburg, Hamburg), Prof. Natalia B. Ananjeva (Russian Academy of Sciences, St. Petersburg), Dr. Nikolay A. Poyarkov (Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow), Dr. Ruchira Somaweera (University of Western Australia, Perth), Prof. Sampath S. Seneviratne (University of Colombo), Prof. Sujan M. Henkanaththegedara (Longwood University, Virginia), Michael B. Harvey (Broward College, Florida), Prof. Eric N. Smith (University of Texas, Arlington), Prof. L. Lee Grismer (La Sierra University, California), Mr. Awal Riyanto (Indonesian Institute of Sciences, Cibinong), Dr. S.R. Chandramouli (Pondicherry University, Puducherry), Dr. S.R. Ganesh (Chennai Snake Park), Dr. Peter Uetz (Center for Biological Data Science, Virginia), Prof. Vincent Nijman (Oxford Brookes University, Oxford), Prof. S.D. Biju and Dr. Sonali Garg at University of Delhi are acknowledged for their continuous support.

Dr. K. Venkataraman (former director), Dr. Kailash Chandra (director), Dr. Kaushik Deuti, Dr. Channakeshav Murthy at the Zoological Survey of India (ZSI); Dr. Nanda Wickramasinghe (former director), Dr. Sanuja Kasthuriarachchi (director), and Dr. Lankani Somaratna (Asst. director) at the National Museums of Sri Lanka (NMSL); Prof. Colin McCarthey and Dr. Patrick D. Campbell at the Natural History Museum, London (NHMUK); Dr. Ivan Ineich at Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris (MNHN); Dr. Olivier S. G. Pauwels at Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique, Brussels (IRSNB); Dr. Frank Tillack and Dr. Mark-O. Rödel at Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin (ZMB); Dr. Alexander Kupfer at Staatliches Museum für Naturkunde, Stuttgart (SMNS); Dr. Edi Stöckli at Naturhistorisches Museum Basel (NMB); Prof. Sven O. Kullander and Dr. Erik Åhlander at Swedish Royal Museum of Natural History, Stockholm (NRM); Dr. Franz Tiedemann and Dr. Heinz Grillitsch at Naturhistorisches Museum Wien (NMW); Dr. Stefano Scali at Museo di Storia Naturale di Milano (MSNM); Dr. Alan Resetar and Dr. Joshua Mata at the Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago (FMNH) are acknowledged for facilitating the in-house study of specimens under their care.

Finally I would like to thank Dr. Sanoj Wijayasekara (Sri Lanka), Prof. Rafe M. Brown (University of Kansas), Prof. Eric N. Smith (University of Texas, Arlington), Prof. ‪Kanishka D.B. Ukuwela‬ (Rajarata University, Mihintale), Thai National Parks, Mr. Bryan Lim (Singapore), Prof. Djoko T. Iskandar (Bandung Institute of Technology), Prof. Jimmy A. McGuire (University of California, Berkeley), Prof. S.D. Biju (University of Delhi), Dr. S.R. Chandramouli (Pondicherry University, Puducherry), Mr. D.M.S. Suranjan Karunarathna (Nature Explorations & Education Team Sri Lanka), Mr. A. Suneth Kanishka (Sri Lanka), Mr. L.J. Mendis Wickramasinghe (Herpetological Foundation of Sri Lanka) for providing excellent photographs for this website.
Copyright © 2021 | A. A. Thasun Amarasinghe | All Rights Reserved,
Powered by IKTLink Mobile
Desktop Version